North Court, originally known simply as Westhampton College, was the first building on the "other" side of the lake. It was renamed North Court when South Court was built in 1948. Constructed with the intention of being an entire women's college in one building, the tower divided residential and academic wings. The women of Westhampton College lived, excerised, studied and socialized in North Court. In the first several years, it was also home to the faculty of both Westhampton and Richmond Colleges. Built in the Collegiate Gothic style just like the other original buildings on campus, North Court also had an English-style dining room courtyard.
On opening in the fall of 1914, Westhampton College enrolled 82 women: 38 residential and 44 commuting. The building was designed to accommodate 135 students. Since there was space, a number of faculty members and administrators also lived in the building, including: Cleo Hearon, professor of history; Hilda Beale, instructor in mathematics; Fanny G. Crenshaw, director of athletics; Dean May Lansfield Keller, dean of Westhampton College; Benjamin West Tabb, treasurer, and his family; R.E. Gaines, professor of mathematics at Richmond College, and his family; Eugene L. Bingham, professor of chemistry, and his family; and Dr. Frederic Boatwright, president.
Interesting Fact: The museum objects from the downtown campus were originally housed in North Court. In fact, there is still a museum there today, where you can find the famous mummy being carefully looked after.
Minutes of the Eightieth Annual Session of the Virginia James River Baptist Association Held with Buckingham Baptist Church, Buckingham County, Va. July 30th, 31st and August 1st, 1912
Nineteenth Annual Report of the President to the Trustees of Richmond College, June 1914
Rosenbaum, Claire Millhiser. A Gem of a College: The History of Westhampton College, 1914-1989
University of Richmond Magazine, Winter 1973
VBHS building file
Reports from the Committee on New Buildings, 1914 (VBHS)