James Thomas, Jr. Memorial Hall was one of the first buildings constructed on the Westhampton campus. Construction began on October 5, 1912 and finished in the summer of 1913. Originally it was called Dormitory No. 2 while Jeter Hall was called Dormitory No. 1. Both dormitories served as men's residences.
The building was named for James Thomas, Jr., a Richmond tobacconist. Thomas was a charter member of the Richmond College Board of Trustees serving from 1835 until 1859. He was one of Richmond’s first millionaires and a significant donor to the Virginia Baptist Seminary and Richmond College. Thomas was a supporter or of the Richmond Female Institute, which became the Woman’s College of Richmond, and which was then absorbed into Westhampton College. It was James Thomas, Jr. who gave the college $5,000 in 1866, allowing it to reopen following the devastation of the Civil War. In recognition of his contributions, the Museum and Art Hall on the old downtown campus was named in his honor.
Interesting Fact: Just like Jeter Hall, the beam and stucco design found on both men's dorimitories is representative of the English Tudor architectural style rather than the Collegiate Gothic style found elsewhere on campus.
Rosenbaum, Claire Millhiser. A Gem of a College: The History of Westhampton College, 1914-1989
Reports from the Committee on New Buildings, 1914 (VBHS)
VBHS building file